International Standard
ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006
Information technology — Generic coding of moving pictures and associated audio information — Part 7: Advanced Audio Coding (AAC)
Reference number
ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006
Edition 4
International Standard
Read sample
ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006
Published (Edition 4, 2006)
This standard was last reviewed and confirmed in 2017. Therefore this version remains current.
This standard has 1 amendment.

ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006

ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006
CHF 216
Convert Swiss francs (CHF) to your currency


ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006 specifies MPEG-2 Advanced Audio Coding (AAC), a multi-channel audio coding standard that delivers higher quality than is achievable when requiring MPEG-1 backwards compatibility. It provides ITU-R "indistinguishable" quality at a data rate of 320 kbit/s for five full-bandwidth channel audio signals.

ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006 also supplements information on how to utilize the bandwidth extension technology (SBR) specified in ISO/IEC14496-3 in conjunction with MPEG-2 AAC.

General information

  •  : Published
     : 2006-01
    : Close of review [90.60]
  •  : 4
     : 194
  • ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29
  • RSS updates


Amendments are issued when it is found that new material may need to be added to an existing standardization document. They may also include editorial or technical corrections to be applied to the existing document.

Amendment 1

Transport of MPEG Surround in AAC

Edition 2007

ISO/IEC 13818-7:2006/Amd 1:2007
CHF 18
Convert Swiss francs (CHF) to your currency

Life cycle

Got a question?

Check out our FAQs

Customer care
+41 22 749 08 88

Opening hours:
Monday to Friday - 09:00-12:00, 14:00-17:00 (UTC+1)